

#### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

### **METROPOLITAN ATLANTA RAPID TRANSIT AUTHORITY**

### **EXTERNAL RELATIONS COMMITTEE**

THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 23, 2023

ATLANTA, GEORGIA

### **MEETING MINUTES**

### 1. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Chair Rita Scott called the meeting to order at 11:51 A.M.

**Board Members** Al Pond

**Present:** Freda Hardage

Jim Durrett Rita Scott Stacy Blakley Thomas Worthy

**Board Members** Kathryn Powers

Absent: Roderick Frierson

William Floyd Roderick Mullice Valencia Williamson

Jennifer Ide

Jacob Tzegaegbe Russell McMurry Jannine Miller

Staff Members Present: Collie Greenwood

Raj Srinath
Peter Andrews
Rhonda Allen
Luz Borrero
George Wright
Carrie Rocha

Also in Attendance: Leah Ward Sears, Colleen Kiernan, Katherine Dirga, Phyllis Bryant,

Tyrene Huff and Kenya Hammond

#### 2. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

### Approval of the January 26, 2023 External Relations Committee Minutes.

Approval of the January 26, 2023, External Relations Committee Minutes. On a motion by Board Member Durrett, seconded by Board Member Blakley, the motion by a vote of 6 to 0 with 6 members present.

### 3. BRIEFING

### **Government Affairs Update**

Colleen Kiernan, Assistant General Manager External Affairs provided the committee with a State and Federal Legislative update.

### **MARTA Artbound Advisory Council Update**

Katherine Dirga, Director Art in Transit, provided the committee with an update and introduction of the new members of the MARTA Council for the Arts.

### 4. OTHER MATTERS

None

### 5. ADJOURNMENT

The Committee meeting adjourned at 12:10 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Tyrene L. Huff

Assistant Secretary to the Board

Tyrene L. Haff

YouTube link:

https://youtube.com/live/8EVKazpwozl?feature=share



## marta \\\

# **Government Affairs**

February 2023 Update

## Agenda

State Legislative Update

Federal Update



### **Updates**

- ✓ MARTOC Committee Meeting
- ✓ Fulton County Legislative Agenda
- ✓ Transit Lane Enforcement Legislation





## **Transit Day – March 20**







### **Federal Update**

- ✓ Earmarks
  - ✓ FY23 Events
  - ✓ FY24 Requests
- ✓ FTA NOFOs
  - ✓ Bus & Bus Facilities
  - ✓ Low/No Emission Bus

# The latest DeKalb County news, photos and events. DeKalb's most-trusted news source



MARTA investment marks "historic day" for Stonecrest

🏲 February 17, 2023 🋔 Jay Phillips 🤛 0 Comments 🖠 Collie Greenwood, DeKalb, Hank Johnson, hub, Jazzmin Cobble, jon ossoff, MARTA, Mereda Davis Johnson, Stonecrest, transportation



Thank You









## MARTA Artbound

**Advisory Council Update** 

External Relations Committee February 23, 2023



### What is the MARTA Council for the Arts?

7 – 13 members from across MARTA's jurisdictional area and its key partnerships

**Full Council meets quarterly** 

Members nominate new members

**GM/CEO** approves/appoints new members

Members serve two-year terms (up to two consecutive)

Members may not profit personally from business with MARTA while on the Council

### Who is eligible?

- local and regional public art and design professionals
- members of the public who are qualified to contribute in a meaningful way to a public transit agency art program
- must be residents of one of MARTA's jurisdictions
- from diverse, yet relevant fields,
   e.g. local arts organizations,
   community organizations,
   visual/perfoming arts,
   architecture, city planning, and/or
   city/county government or
   organizations from the areas
   served by MARTA



### What does the Council do?

Make recommendations / support community engagement practices

Nominate arts or community members to serve as Selection Panelists for new public artworks

Leverage their networks to assist with programmatic goals

Amplify MARTA Artbound's work to their contacts and the community





### 2023 - 2025 MARTA Council for the Arts



Briana X. Camelo
Public Art Program Manager
Atlanta Office of Cultural Affairs
Midtown Station



Brian Hebert
Executive Director
Arts Clayton
Route 191



Aixa Pascual
Senior Communications Strategist
Atlanta Regional Commission
Mansell Rd. Park & Ride



Christopher Swain
Public Art Project Coordinator
City of East Point
East Point Station



Dorian McDuffie
Public Art Program Manager
Atlanta City Studio
Route 191



Erika Smith
Microsoft Philanthropies
Sandy Springs
Route 87



Franco Bejarano
Artist, Clinical Social Worker
Intown Collaborative Ministries
Lakewood/Ft Mac Station



Josh Phillipson
Member Ex-Officio
Principal Arts and Culture Specialist
Atlanta Regional Commission
Avondale Station



Thank You

